GET & TAT in Hawaii – The Easiest Way To File & Pay
- Update: In case you missed it, check: Revised GET tax rates by county & new TAT requirements.
Regardless where you live, if you collect income from rental properties located in the State of Hawaii you need to file and pay:
General Excise Tax (GET) on all rents, and Transient Accommodation Tax (TAT) on rents from rental terms less than 180 days per tenant.
If you receive income from a Waikiki condo, or Oahu condo with rental terms less than 180 days per tenant you will need to pay both:
1.) 4.5% GET on the GE Taxable Income = Gross Rent plus GET collected (if any), before deducting expenses, and
2.) 10.25% TAT on the TA Taxable Income (Gross Rent, before deducting expenses).
How often and when do I have to file and pay:
Both, GET (form G-45) and TAT (form TA-1) are due by the 20th of the month following the end of filing period.
You will also need to file the Annual Return & Reconciliation for GET (form G-49), and TAT (form T-2) by April 20th of the following year.
Filing frequency depends on how much tax you expect to be paying for the full year:
How to calculate your GET & TAT on Hawaii Rental Income:
GET is 4.5% on Oahu (4% on neighbor islands) on all gross rental income, including GET you might have collected (!), before deducting any expenses. – Note: You may collect 4.714% from your tenant to cover the 4.5% GET on the total collected (rent + GET collected)
TAT is 10.25% on all gross transient accommodation rental income (shorter than 180 days per tenant), before deducting any expenses.
Gross rent from Transient Accommodation Rentals: $10,000.
Gross rent from Other Rentals: $10,000.
GE – Taxable income: $20,942 ($10K + $10K = $20K rent + $942 GET collected) x 4.5% = $942.41 GET due
TA – Taxable income: $10,000 x 10.25% = $1,025.00 TAT due
The easiest way to file & pay in less than 5 minutes:
Last year the Hawaii State Department of Taxation made filing and paying simple with easy online access. There really is no excuse not to file and pay. Fines are stiff and there is no statute of limitation if you ever get audited. Play by the rules, file and pay on time and mitigate financial nightmares.
The State of Hawaii’s site is called Hawaii Tax Online: https://hitax.hawaii.gov
Our short tutorials walk you through each step how to pay online in less than 5 minutes without writing checks, licking stamps or envelopes.
Part 1: GET
• Register your business and sign up for your GET license.
• Set up your online account.
• File and pay your GE tax in less than 5 minutes.
Part 2: TAT
• File and pay your TA tax in less than 5 minutes.
Disclaimer: This post and the tutorials were put together as a free service to help you efficiently file and pay online GET & TAT on your Hawaii rental income. -We are not tax professionals or CPAs. Always check with your favorite qualified tax professional or contact the Hawaii State Department of Taxation at 808-587-4242.
Let us know what you think. We love to hear from you. Reciprocate Aloha! -‘Like’, ‘Share’, and ‘Comment’ below.
~ Mahalo & Aloha